Tap to Read ➤

What is the pass mark for IELTS?

An IELTS result is reported on a 9-band scale. It is designed to be simple and easy to understand. Swipe to know more
Passing marks for IELTS
There is no pass or fail score in IELTS. Test results are reported in half-band increments from 1.0, the lowest, to 9.0, the highest. Each test section will receive its own band score: Listening, Reading, Writing, and Speaking
IELTS overall band score
Candidates receive band score from 1 to 9 on each of the 4 modules: Listening, Reading, Writing and Speaking. The average produces your overall band score. The test can be scored in whole (e.g., 5.0, 6.0) or half (e.g., 5.5, 6.5) bands.
How is IELTS writing scored?
IELTS writing  is based on band scores in four areas Task Response, Coherence and Cohesion, Lexical Resource, Grammatical Range and Accuracy. Each area will be scored from 0-9, and then these scores will be added up to determine your final score.
How is IELTS reading scored?
IELTS Reading consists of 40 questions. The correct answer is worth one mark. IELTS uses a nine-band scale to convert scores out of 40. Scores are reported in whole and half bands.
How is IELTS listening scored?
The IELTS listening test consists of 40 questions. One mark is awarded for each accurate answer. In IELTS listening, the total number of correct answers out of 40 is converted into a 9-band score.
How is IELTS Speaking scored?
The IELTS Speaking results are given as band scores ranging from 0 to 9. Scores based on whole and half bands indicate English proficiency levels.
The IELTS score scale
To know more about IELTS and study abroad opportunities, click the link in the bio
Click Here